• We support BCIA do you?

  • To join group discussions, get email meeting reminders, give input on new events please join our yahoo group through the link below.

    Click here

  • We celebrate IBW annually!

  • Check us out live

    Winter 2011 Listing of Events

    Morning Cygnus Lactation Services
    Location 402 N. Seymour Mundelein, IL
    Monthly Second Friday Morning 10 a.m. – noon
    Jan 14, Feb 11, Mar 11, Apr 8

    Morning Be By Baby
    Location 1654 W Roscoe St Chicago IL 60657
    Monthly First Tuesday Morning 11 – 12:30 p.m.
    Jan 4, Feb 1, Mar 1, Apr 5

    Evening Grayslake Area Public Library, Room ABC
    Location 100 Library Lane, Grayslake, IL
    Monthly Thursday Evening 6:15 – 8:15 pm
    Jan 27, Feb 17, Mar 24, Apr 28, May 26, June 23

    Morning Algonquin Public Library, Harnish Room
    Location 2600 Harnish Dr, Algonquin, IL
    Monthly Last Thursday Morning 10:30 a.m. - 12:30 a.m.
    Jan 20, Feb 24, Mar 17

    Morning Waukegan Public Library, Bradbury Room
    Location 128 North County Street, Waukegan, IL
    Monthly Last Thursday Morning 10 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
    Jan 27, Feb 24, Mar 31, Apr 28

Babywearing while traveling

My toddler just took his ninth flight on an airplane, which means ultimately, that I’ve been on nine flights with him.
And babywearing has been fabulous during traveling. As a little baby, I wore him in a mei tai through the airport. As a toddler, I wore him in a different mei tai, one with padding, through the airport. Each time it has worked fabulously. When he was a baby and slept most of the time we were in transit, I didn’t need a stroller. Now that he’s a toddler, I take a little umbrella stroller to help carry the carry-on luggage or him if he gets too heavy to wear. But I would not trade my carrier for a stroller ever if I were forced to choose. Because I’ve used all-cloth carriers, I do not have take my son out of the carrier when going through security. Wearing him through security frees my hands to take care of unloading everything under the sun onto the security belt. And while I’m wearing my toddler, he cannot escape or be stolen, which helps me to focus on the security process of separting liquids and electronics from our other stuff while also taking off our shoes, collapsing the stroller and removing anything that could be metal from our bodies.
I also love wearing my son onto the airplane because of the tight aisles we must squeeze through. With him on my back, instead of being carried on my hip, we make it much through more comfortably.
And did I mention the calming effect babywearing has even on a toddler. He is much less likely to put up a fuss or get cranky while being worn than while not being worn.
My personal favorites:
Tiny babies — a pouch (like a Hotsling or Slingling)
Heavier babies and toddlers — a padded mei tai like a Bamberoo or Kindercarry.

What I would avoid:
Any carrier with metal or buckles, because you will have to remove it while going through security.
Wraps because I, personally, like having an easy, quick, in-and-out carrier for the just in case times — especially, now that my son is potty learning.

Happy travels.

Leave a Reply

